Zombies are the new Vampires

Hello! So, it’s been awhile since I’ve posted anything, and since I had a truly twisted zombie dream last night, I’ve decided to tell you a bit about the novel which inspired my dreams. Seriously though, it was one of those dreams where you wake up, think “Wow…that was fucked up.”, and then fall back asleep to dream the fucked-up zombie dream again?! Ugh…weirdness times three. In my dream, however, I managed to rescue Killer and Betsy (my cats), and snapped the neck of a zombie-baby?!

And then I woke up. I’m assuming this was because my dream was going badly, as a crowd of folks watching TV all turned into zombie at once and advanced on me?! Ironic, isn’t it? But that’s another blog post altogether: the mind-killing machine known as television. 🙂

Pariah by Bob Fingerman – review

This novel was a pleasant surprise! I was wandering through the stacks at my local library, and stumbled upon this lovely find. I’ll admit, I was at first drawn by the cover art, as I usually am when I pick up an unknown (to me) author, and start reading the cover. As usual, the back was filled with glowing recommendations from fellow authors, newspaper, and the like. Normally, I simply ignore these, as I like to actually read the novel before forming an opinion, and move to the first paragraph. As every writer and reader knows, you HAVE to have a great (or at least good) hook, right in the beginning, or you’re apt to lose the reader due to boredom. Mr. Fingerman had me right away. I knew this was a “zombie novel”, what with the huge explosion of zombie-related EVERYTHING right now. Zombies are the new Vampires for 2011. Fist bumps all around! Don’t get me wrong, I love my vamps, and am reading two vamp books right now, but that’s another post. Alas, I digress.

I can’t say enough for the exquisite prose, as well as the character building. Immediately, the reader is drawn into the drama, thinking WTF is going on?  There’s a quick accidental death, and of course zombie gore galore! Mr. Fingerman does a great job of building the characters, and letting you know what kind of people you’re dealing with, while letting he reader make their own decisions about character.

The language Mr. Fingerman uses to describe the death and destruction of what we come to find is pretty much the entire world, is eloquent, morose, and yet hopeful. There is always that hope in the under-current of the novel, that keeps the reader waiting and wanting. There is a strong human, as well as humane, aspect in his writing, that literally makes the reader speed through this novel. I read it in two days?! Of course, I had to return it to the library, as someone else had it on hold, but I work well with deadlines…no pun intended. 😉

I highly recommend this novel, and I can’t wait to read more of Bob Fingerman’s work! You can find him on Goodreads here:

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/261138.Bob_Fingerman

Now go! Read zombie fiction! And have a happy Friday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogs 2011

Leave a Reply

