Ooh look! Shiny!

http://www.poets.org/page.php/prmID/41

As most of you probabky know, April is National Poetry month. I’ve always found this particularly fitting, being a poet and an April-birthday girl, as I usually increase my writing in this month. Not on purpose. Just because I’m more inspired? In my element? Heck if I know?!

So I’ve been mulling this idea around in my head for awhile: a poetry challenge for myself for this upcoming April. At first, I was going to commit myself to publishing at least three poems a week. Then this Sobriety Experiment came along, and kicked me in the ass, so I’m going to go with two a week. Maybe. If I’m lucky? If you don’t already know, I’m live-journalling my progress with the Sobriety Experiment here:

http://sobrietyofthesoul.wordpress.com/

Apparently, sobriety is actually making me more creative and motivated?! Sobriety FTW!

Alas, I digress.

While I’m committing myself to two poems a week, I’d still like to post a minimum of three poems per week, so if your a poet or a poetry-dabbler, and you’d like your work featured as a guest on my site, let me know. Comment, email me, Twitter me, Facebook me, whatever…..let’s hook it up! And if you know of a poet that I am unaware of, bring it on! I love reading new (to me) authors, and truly enjoy the pimping. 🙂

Sharon, Jinx, Rach…I’m talking to you…….. 🙂

Or anyone else, really.

  Poetry is not an opinion expressed; it is a song that rises from a bleeding wound or a smiling mouth.” – Kahlil Gibran
1 Comment

Filed under Blogs 2011, Poetry

One response to “Ooh look! Shiny!

  1. Pingback: Day #10: Screw Charlie Sheen. I win! « The Sobriety of the Soul

Leave a Reply

