Skillet Chili Mac

At  roughly 3 o’clock today, I realized I’d forgotten to take anything out of the freezer (meat-wise) for dinner…oops.

My original plan had been to roast a chicken, but the pound of ground turkey thaws out much quicker, so as usual, I improvised.

I found a generic box of mac & cheese and went from there.

Skillet Chili Mac

Dudes?! Yummy! 🙂

 
Please note: I do not use recipes. They’re more like guidelines…
 
My not-so-secret-I-just-totally-made-this-up recipe…
 
1 box Mac & Cheese
1 lb. ground turkey (or beef…I actually think it’d be better with beef)
1/2 green pepper, chopped
1/2 onion, chopped
1 c. shredded cheddar cheese
1/2 c. salsa verde
1/4 c. butter
1/4 c. milk
1 14.5 oz. can of pinto beans
1 tea. salt
1/2 tea. pepper
1/4 tea. crushed red pepper flakes
1/2 tea. cumin
1/2 c. sour cream
1 tomato, chopped
1 avocado, chopped
 
So first, get your water boiling for the pasta, and pre-heat your skillet. Chuck the peppers, onions and ground turkey into the skillet, and cook until meat is done.
 
Your water should be boiling by now, so dump in the noodles and boil for roughly 6 minutes.
 
Add the salsa to the ground turkey mixture, as well as the salt, pepper, red pepper, and cumin.
 
After the noodles are done, strain them, and dump them in the skillet with the browned meat stuff. Throw the butter, milk, cheese powder stuff, shredded cheese  and sour cream in the skillet and stir it around a bunch.
 
Dump the tomatoes in there too. Now cover the skillet, turning the heat down to about med-low for 5 minutes to let all the flavors come together, stirring occasionally.
 
And viola! Top the bowls of yummy with avocado and a dollop of sour cream! NOM.
 
You could also garnish with cilantro or crushed tortilla chips if you like.
 
Whatever you like. Honestly, I used a recipe I saw in the recent issue of Healthy Cooking from Taste of Home, and tweaked it a bit to fit the ingredients I had on hand. I should have added frozen corn, but I forgot until I was on my second bowl, so…
 
Thumbs up. Easy to prepare. Filling, yet healthy. Enjoy. 🙂
2 Comments

Filed under Blogs 2011

2 responses to “Skillet Chili Mac

  1. Pingback: Apologies are for pussies. « The Sobriety of the Soul

  2. Looks fast and delicious!

Leave a Reply

