Sex Demons, Harems & Snark. Oh my!

Cover Art by Robin Ludwig
 
I received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for an honest review.
 

Save My Soul by Zoe Winters

All he’s asking for is her soul.

After buying the antebellum home she’s fantasized about since childhood, Anna Worthington discovers Luc, a dangerously seductive incubus who has been trapped in the house by a fifty-year-old curse. To rid herself of her problem house guest she’ll call on a priest, gypsies, ghost hunters, and the coven of witches from lust bunny hell. All she has to do is resist him long enough to break the spell so they can go their separate ways. If she doesn’t, she could die. And that would be the best case scenario.

Honestly, this book sat in my TBR (to-be-read) pile for awhile about a year. Unfortunately, it usually got shoved to the back burner by more persistent library books (with due dates), or an unpublished manuscript I was beta reading. It wasn’t that I didn’t thoroughly enjoy the first Preternatural Book, Blood Lust, but such is the life of an avid reader.

You can check out my review of Blood Lust by clicking on the link.

The aspect that I loved most about Save My Soul was the fact that while Blood Lust is a compilation of three separate novellas, this second book is devoted entirely to the story of Luc and Anna.

Immediately, I identified with Anna Worthington. She’s smart. She’s sarcastic. She’s independent, yet vulnerable. Just don’t tell her that!

I positively adored all of the relationship dynamics in this paranormal romance! Anna vs. Lucian. Luc vs. Cain. Anna vs. Tam. The entire harem of Atlanta prostitutes, brought to Anna’s house to fulfill Lucian’s desire to feed. Even the Catholic priest played a significant role.  And I must add that I absolutely adored/abhorred the townsfolk, especially the elderly twins and neighbors of Anna. 😉

In Book One, the author introduces Cain, who is the original incubus, as we discover in Book Two. Originally, I’d thought that this second book would be more about him, as I knew it was about an incubus. However, I am thrilled that the author made Cain into more of a “bad boy”, at least as far as demons go, and lent a softer side to Lucian, making the reader more sympathetic to said demon.

Lucian, while still a sex demon, was limited by his humanity, or better yet, his soul and the feelings he feels. I’m  a softy for a demon with a humanitarian side, so I immediately took to Luc. Plus, he’s straight-up gorgeous?! Honestly, I’m impressed that Anna hung onto her values as long as she did. I’d have succumbed much sooner than she. Slowly, but surely, Lucian breaks down her tough-girl barriers, and Anna eventually realizes how much she loves him. Even with the blood-bonding, Anna understands that what she has with Luc is more than just a simple physical attraction. What they have is so much more…

So go buy the book! NOW! 🙂

You can access Zoe Winters’s website by clicking on her name…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

2 Comments

Filed under Book review

2 responses to “Sex Demons, Harems & Snark. Oh my!

  1. Pingback: HELLO SUMMER! « The Sobriety of the Soul

  2. Glad you liked this wild literary ride!
    Great post!

Leave a Reply

