Today I Saw Chickens Penned-In On The Side Of The Road

 

It’s foggy tonight.

 

sometimes i think

it’s the coming rain,

or sorrow,

or pain,

or simply my brain,

the years of smoking too much

or drowning my fear

in gallons of beer,

tumblers of whisky

on the rocks.

 

other times i think

it’s just my life,

the listless minds surrounding

me, my craving need

for something

anything

more than this

inconsequential existence.

 

or perhaps it’s only

the full moon rising,

the pink-blue sunset,

the bitter wind, as i walk down

the street, away from

you and you and you.

 

And I give the world the proverbial finger.

2 Comments

Filed under Poetry

2 responses to “Today I Saw Chickens Penned-In On The Side Of The Road

  1. I feel exactly like that sometimes… or most of the time

  2. Another great post. I enjoyed reading your blog today.

    We love to meet new excited writers!

    Join Us Today – Writing Jobs Available

Leave a Reply

